John Stainer

Attendance and Absence requests

All pupils are expected to be in school, on time, unless they are too unwell, in which case we expect you to telephone the school to let us know the specific reason for absence, or they have an appointment, for which we expect a copy of the letter or card for the file from the doctor or hospital. We do not condone parents taking their children out of school for term time holidays unless it is an absolute emergency. Any term time absence must be requested before the time is taken on the appropriate form from the school office and the headteacher will decide if the absence will be authorised and inform you in writing of the decision.

Absence Request form 

 

Each week the class attendance is looked at, and whichever is the highest wins the Viv William Attendance Cup to have in their class for the week! Viv was a teaching assistant who worked in the school and in over 30 years she never even had ONE day of absence!

Emergency closure policy

If for any reason we have to close the school as am emergency, a notice will be posted on the website under News, and a message will be left on the school answer machine saying the school is closed and referring you to the website. We do not make this decision lightly as we realise how disruptive it is for parents, but if we cannot get enough staff into school because of where they are travelling from, then the decision is made by the headteacher to close, and the Local Authority are informed. This has happened (very infrequently) in the past because of the snow. In the event of a planned strike where we do not have enough staff to cover classes then generally we are able to give you some advance warning. Sometimes the school site itself is unsafe, or unable to be used, for example if the water is cut off or if the heating has failed. We strongly suggest having a contingency plan agreed with friends or family about what to do in the event of a school closure, to help keep disruption to a minimum.

Term Dates 2021-2022

Autumn term 2021

  • School starts - Wednesday 1 September to Friday 22 October 

    (INSET Day 1 - Wednesday 1 September - school closed to children)

    (INSET Day 2 - Monday 4 October - school closed to children)

  • Half term: Monday 25 October to Friday 29 October

  • School starts - Monday 1 November to Friday 17 December 

    School finishes - Friday 17th December 2021 at 1:30 pm

Spring term 2022

  • School starts - Tuesday 4 January to Friday 11 February 

    (INSET Day 3 - Tuesday 4 January - school closed to children)

  • Half term: Monday 14 February to Friday 18 February

  • School starts - Monday 21 February to Friday 1 April at 1:30 

    (INSET Day 4 - Friday 18 March - school closed to children)

    Easter Holidays - Mon 4 April to Mon 18 April 

Summer term 2022

  • School starts - Tue 19 April to Friday 27 May 

    (the early May bank holiday will be taken on 2 May)

  • Half term: Monday 30 May to Friday 3 June

  • School starts - Monday 6 June to Friday 22 July 

    (INSET Day 5 - Monday 27 June - school closed to children)

    School Finishes - Friday 22nd July at 1.30 pm

Total: 195 

Public holidays

    • Christmas Day: Saturday 25 December 2021 (Monday 27 December substitute day)

    • Boxing Day: Sunday 26 December 2021 (Tuesday 28 December substitute day)

    • New Year’s Day: Saturday 1 January 2022 (Monday 3 January substitute day)

    • Good Friday: Friday 15 April 2022

    • Easter Monday: Monday 18 April 2022

    • Early May bank holiday: Monday 2 May 2022

    • Spring bank holiday: Monday 30 May 2022

    • Summer bank holiday: Monday 29 August 2022

 

Term Dates 2022-2023

Autumn term

  • Thursday 1 September to Friday 21 October (37 days)

  • Half term: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October

  • Monday 31 October to Friday 16 December (35 days)

Spring term

  • Tuesday 3 January to Friday 10 February (29 days)

  • Half term: Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February

  • Monday 20 February to Friday 31 March (30 days)

Summer term

  • Monday 17 April to Friday 26 May (29 days) (the early May bank holiday will be taken on 1 May)

  • Half term: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June

  • Monday 5 June to Friday 21 July (35 days) (the spring bank holiday will be taken on 29 May)

Total: 195 

Public holidays

  • Christmas Day: Sunday 25 December 2022 (Tuesday 27 December substitute day)

  • Boxing Day: Monday 26 December 2022

  • New Year’s Day: Sunday 1 January 2023 (Monday 2 January substitute day)

  • Good Friday: Friday 7 April 2023

  • Easter Monday: Monday 10 April 2023

  • Early May bank holiday: Monday 1 May 2023

  • Spring bank holiday: Monday 29 May 2023

  • Summer bank holiday: Monday 28 August 2023